We have added 11 more currencies!

Microsoft recently announced that they are expanding their marketplace to an amazing total of 180 countries and territories (the announcement can be found here). We decided to add the following 11 currencies so all countries in the previous list have a representation within our set of applications:

The dram (Armenian: Դրամ; code: AMD) is the monetary unit of Armenia. It is subdivided into 100 luma (Armenian: լումա). The word “dram” translates into English as “money” and is cognate with the Greek drachma and the Arabic dirham. The Central Bank of Armenia has the exclusive right of issuing the national currency according to Armenian law.

The franc (code: BIF) is the currency of Burundi. It is nominally subdivided into 100 centimes, although coins have never been issued in centimes since Burundi began issuing its own currency. Only during the period when Burundi used the Belgian Congo franc were centime coins issued.

The franc (French: franc comorien; Arabic: فرنك قمري‎; code: KMF) is the official currency of Comoros. It is nominally subdivided into 100 centimes, although no centime denominations have ever been issued.

The Congolese franc (code: CDF) is the currency of the Democratic Republic of Congo. It is subdivided into 100 centimes.  The franc was re-established in 1997, replacing the new zaïre at a rate of 1 franc = 100,000 new zaïres. This was equivalent to 300 trillion old francs.

The franc (Arabic: فرنك‎; code: DJF) is the currency of Djibouti. Historically it was subdivided into 100 centimes.  In 1971 and 1973, the franc was revalued against the US dollar, first to a rate of 197.466 to the dollar, then 177.721, a rate which has been maintained ever since.

The nakfa (code: ERN) is the currency of Eritrea. It is divided into 100 cents. The currency was introduced on 8 November 1997 to replace the Ethiopian birr at par, and it was named after the town of Nakfa.

 The loti (plural: maloti; code: LSL) is the currency of the Kingdom of Lesotho. It is subdivided into 100 lisente (sg. sente). It is pegged to the South African rand on a 1:1 basis through the Common Monetary Area, and both are accepted as legal tender within Lesotho. The loti was first issued in 1966, albeit as a non-circulating currency. In 1980, Lesotho issued its first coins denominated in both loti and lisente to replace the South African rand as legal tender.

The kyat (pronounced: [tɕaʔ]; code: MMK) is the currency of Burma (Myanmar). It is often abbreviated as “K”, which is placed before the numerical value.  The present kyat was introduced on 1 July 1952. It replaced the rupee at par. Decimalization also took place, with the kyat subdivided into 100 pya.

The Somali shilling (sign: Sh.So.; Somali: shilin; Arabic: شلن; Italian: scellino; code: SOS) is the official currency of Somalia. It is subdivided into 100 senti (Somali, also سنت), cents (English) or centesimi (Italian).

The tālā is the currency of Samoa (code: WST). It is divided into 100 sene. The terms tālā and sene are the equivalents or transliteration of the English words dollar and cent, in the Samoan language.   The tālā was introduced in 1967, following the country’s political independence from New Zealand in 1962.

The paʻanga (code: TOP) is the currency of the Tonga. It is controlled by the National Reserve Bank of Tonga (Pangikē Pule Fakafonua ʻo Tonga) in Nukuʻalofa. The paʻanga is not convertible and is pegged to a basket of currencies comprising the Australian dollar, New Zealand dollar, United States dollar and the Japanese yen.

With these additions we now support more than 200 countries.  You will be able to see all these currencies with their flags next time you launch the applications.

Best regards from the Limited Securities team.